Sign Up For Novogradac Industry Alert Emails

2009 Novogradac Community Development Foundation Community Development Individual Award Recipients

Federal Legislator of the Year

Congressman Richard E. Neal

D - Mass.


Congressman Richard Neal is recognized for his contributions and strong impact on the field of community development. The New Markets Tax Credit industry is appreciative of his efforts on the behalf of the NMTC and other community development tax credit programs.

State Legislators of the Year

State Sen. Jason Allen

Michigan - 37th District


While in the Senate, Jason Allen has emerged as a leader by spearheading a number of statewide initiatives focused greatly on stimulating Michigan's economy and creating jobs. Initiatives have focused on tool and die manufacturing, venture capital investment, research and development, re-authorization of the Michigan Economic Growth Authority, and revitalizing cities and downtowns as locations for business investment and growth. Senator Allen has also had legislation enacted that allows religious studies and theology majors to receive state scholarships, and sponsored policy to allow for creative new ways to combat invasive species in our inland lakes.

Assembly Member Sam Hoyt

Buffalo, NY


As the Director of Public Policy of the Preservation League of New York State, I would like to nominate Assemblymember Hoyt for his extraordinary leadership, diligence and effectiveness in leading legislative advocacy in support of legislation this year that significantly expanded the New York State Rehabilitation tax credit programs, initially established in 2006.

Thanks to Assemblymember Sam Hoyt’s (D-Buffalo) sustained leadership in support of this legislation over the past three years, significant enhancements to the state rehabilitation tax credit program were signed into law by Governor David A. Patterson in late July. 

The program enhancements expand New York State Rehabilitation Tax Credit programs for commercial (income-producing) and residential (owner-occupied) historic properties to more effectively serve community redevelopment and economic stimulus needs of municipalities throughout New York State while targeting new private and federal investment where it is most needed – our economically distressed downtowns and older commercial districts, main streets, and older residential neighborhoods.  It will accomplish these goals in a fiscally-prudent manner, limiting both programs to economically distressed areas where reinvestment incentives are most appropriately targeted.  

Public Executive of the Year

Michael C. Van Milligen

City Manager
City of Dubuque, Iowa


Mike Van Milligen is the City Manager of Dubuque, IA.  The city was designated an All American City in 2007.  He and his staff have been instrumental in some amazing economic development for the city over the past few years.  Our CDE, Iowa Community Development, has now done two New Market Tax Credit transactions in Dubuque.

Van Milligen currently serves as a Regional Vice President of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA). In 2003, Van Milligen was named the Outstanding Manager of the Year by the ICMA. This award recognizes a local government administrator who has initiated and implemented creative, innovative projects and programs in the management of his or her community. In 2004, he was featured as part of the Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government “Innovators in Public Service” Series.

Van Milligen was named Manager of the Year in September 2007 by the Iowa City/County Management Association. This annual award honors chief administrators whose accomplishments and superior work performance represent the best possible application of management principles and whose creative contributions to professional local government management increases public awareness of the value of professional management to the quality of life in Iowa communities.

Return to Past Community Development Individual Achievement Awards

Learn more about Novogradac's expertise and many services