Sign Up For Novogradac Industry Alert Emails

2011 Novogradac Community Development Foundation Community Development Individual Awards

Federal Legislator of the Year

Rep. Jim Gerlach

R - Pennsylvania


Rep. Jim Gerlach brought H.R. 2655, the New Markets Tax Credit Extension Act of 2011, to the House floor in late July. The bill would extend the New Markets Tax Credit program through 2016 and authorize $5 billion in authority each year, in addition to providing Alternative Minimum Tax or AMT exemption for NMTC investments, thereby ensuring NMTC investors the same consideration under the AMT as is currently provided to investors in many other federal tax credits, including the Low Income Housing Tax Credit and the Historic Tax Credit.

Rep. Gerlach’s distinguished career in public service began in 1990 with the first of two terms in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, followed by two terms in the state Senate. Currently, Rep. Gerlach is serving his fifth term in the U.S. House of Representatives, representing portions of Berks, Chester, Montgomery and Lehigh counties, as well as serving on the House Ways and Means Committee and the Ways and Means Subcommittees on Health and Select Revenue.

State Legislator of the Year

State Rep. Emily Cain



Maine’s House Minority Leader Rep. Emily Cain was recently named a 2011 "Champion of Small Business" by the National Coalition for Capital because of her co-sponsorship of a bi-partisan bill that would create a state new markets tax credit program aimed at helping small businesses located in Maine’s economically distressed areas. Rep. Cain was elected to the Maine House of Representatives in 2004, and will serve as the Democratic House Caucus leader for the upcoming 125th Legislature as the youngest female legislator to lead the minority party in Maine’s House of Representatives. Rep. Cain served as the House Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs during the 124th Legislature.

Public Executive of the Year

Mayor Bob Buckhorn

Tampa, Fla.


Mayor Buckhorn's initiative, Changing Tampa’s Economic DNA, lays out a plan to work with Tampa’s community development entities and private developers to attract and leverage the federal New Markets Tax Credit program in order to provide financing for business development in the economically underserved areas of the city. Mayor Buckhorn has also served as the director of governmental affairs for the Builders Association of Greater Tampa and in 1987 became the special assistant to Mayor Sandra Freedman. In 1995, Mr. Buckhorn was elected to the Tampa City Council and was the chairman of the Public Safety Committee, a member of the Municipal Planning Organization, and the chairman of the Hillsborough River Interlocal Planning Board. In 1999, he was reelected to the Tampa City Council for a second term with 75 percent of the vote. He was sworn in as mayor of the nation's 55th largest city on April 1, 2011.

Return to Past Community Development Individual Achievement Awards

Learn more about Novogradac's expertise and many services