Sign Up For Novogradac Industry Alert Emails

Affordable Housing Credit Improvement Act Introduced in Senate

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 3:45PM

Eleven U.S. Senators joined Sens. Maria Cantwell, D-Wash., and Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, to officially introduce the Affordable Housing Credit Improvement Act of 2017 today. Sens. Susan Collins, R-Maine, and Michael Bennet, D-Colo., joined as original cosponsors the bipartisan group announced Monday–Sens. Cantwell, Hatch, Ron Wyden, D-Ore., Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., Cory Booker, D-N.J., Dean Heller, R-Nev., Patrick Leahy, D-Vt., Jeff Merkley, D-Ore., Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii, and Todd Young, R-Ind. The legislation follows the release by Cantwell’s office of a report, “Meeting the Challenges of the Growing Affordable Housing Crisis,” which highlights the impact on affordable housing of the record increase of 9 million renters in the past decade, relatively low rental housing construction, the removal of 13 percent of existing affordable housing homes since 2001 and stagnant wages.

Learn more about Novogradac's expertise and many services