Sign Up For Novogradac Industry Alert Emails

HUD Announces Seven New Empowerment Zones

Wednesday, January 16, 2002 - 1:45AM

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development yesterday announced it had designated seven new empowerment zones (EZs). Chosen from 35 applications, the new zones are: Pulaski County, Ark.; Fresno, Calif.; Jacksonville, Fla.; Syracuse and Yonkers, N.Y.; Oklahoma City, Okla.; and San Antonio, Texas. This brings the total number of urban EZs to 30. The designation allows area businesses and residents access to a federal, state, local and private funding as well as business tax credits and housing, health care, education benefits within the EZ.

Learn more about Novogradac's expertise and many services