House Ways and Means Committee Announces New Subcommittee Chairmen, New Tax Policy Subcommittee

Published by Peter Lawrence on Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 12:00am

With the Oct. 29 elevation of Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wis., as speaker of the House, and the subsequent selection of Rep. Kevin Brady, R-Texas, as the new House Ways and Means Committee chairman Nov. 4, there was a vacancy that needed to be filled: the Health Subcommittee chairman, formerly held by Brady.

While the House Steering Committee makes recommendations to the full House Republican conference on the full committee chairmanships and members of select committees, the Ways and Means Subcommittee chairmen are selected by seniority, and the committee met Nov. 18 met to fill this vacancy.

Rep. Sam Johnson, R-Texas, the most senior Republican after Brady, decided to stay put as the Social Security Subcommittee chairman. The next-most senior committee Republican, Rep. Devin Nunes of California, is the Intelligence Committee chairman and under Republican rules is not allowed to add a subcommittee gavel in addition to his full committee gavel.

The next-most senior committee Republican, Rep. Pat Tiberi, R-Ohio, moved to become the Health Subcommittee Chairman, setting off a round of musical chairs on the influential tax-writing panel.

With Tiberi’s move, Rep. Dave Reichert, R-Wash., next in line of seniority, confirmed he would move over to take the top slot on the Trade Subcommittee that Tiberi held.

In turn, the next senior committee Republican, Rep. Charles Boustany Jr., R-La., signaled that he would become chairman of the newly renamed Tax Policy (formerly Select Revenue Measures) Subcommittee, replacing Reichert. The Tax Policy Subcommittee has jurisdiction over tax credits, including the low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC), new markets tax credit (NMTC), historic tax credit (HTC), renewable energy production (PTC) and investment tax credits (ITC). Boustany is a strong supporter of all of the community development tax credits. He is an original cosponsor of the Tiberi-Neal LIHTC bill, H.R. 1142; an early cosponsor of the Tiberi-Neal NMTC bill, H.R. 855; and original cosponsor of the recently introduced Kelly-Blumenauer HTC bill, H.R. 3846.

Rep. Vern Buchanan, R-Fla., will take over as the top Republican on the Human Resources Subcommittee, replacing Boustany. Rep. Peter Roskam, R-Ill., will remain Oversight Subcommittee Chairman.

In addition to naming the new subcommittee chairmen, Chairman Brady announced he would expand the Tax Policy Subcommittee membership to three more members, two Republicans and one Democrat. The new subcommittee Republican members are Tiberi; Reichert; Tom Reed, R-N.Y.; Todd Young, R-Ind.; Mike Kelly, R-Pa.; Jim Renacci, R-Ohio; Kristi Noem, R-S.D.; and George Holding, R-N.C.  Ranking Member Sandy Levin, D-Mich., is expected to announce the changed Democratic subcommittee rosters soon.  Current subcommittee Democrats are Richard Neal, D-Mass.; John Larson, D-Conn.; Linda Sanchez, D-Calif.; and Mike Thompson, D-Calif.